Life is too short

Why does it take a major change in our lives to realize this? I have always tried to instill in my daughters, that life is too short to worry about the little things. You were not put on this Earth to please others. You are responsible for your own happiness.

I am not saying that you need to be disrespectful or rude toward others while you are creating your own happiness. Two very important things to always remember is:

“Everyone you meet is fighting a battle

you know nothing about.

Be kind. Always”

-Ian Maclaren

“Do unto others, as you would have them do unto you”

The Golden Rule

Growing up, I struggled with always worrying what others thought of me, said about me. When I was 4, my parents divorced. I was always the “odd kid out” in school because I didn’t have a Dad. I attended Catholic school from 1st to 8th Grade. This was before it was acceptable for a single Mom to raise her children. So I dealt with a lot of funny looks, whispers. Thankfully, many of the adults at the school (both parents and staff) knew my Mom growing up and were always kind to me. There were the select few who made me feel invisible, like I didn’t exist. Funny thing happened in 1983–my Mom remarried over Summer break. When I returned to school that Fall, all of a sudden I was no longer the “odd kid out”. I now had a Mother and a Father so I was just like everyone else to everyone else. At the time, I thought it was great that I was getting all this attention. It wasn’t until later in life that I realized WHY all of a sudden they changed the way they treated me.

Through my teenage years, I still felt I had to please everyone and put them before myself. Perhaps this is just the typical mindset of a teenager. Wanting desperately for everyone to like them.

As I get older, I realize more and more that what others think/say about me is their problem not mine. Every parent wants (or at least should want) their child to live a better life than they had. So I believe that is the reason why, from a young age, I have always told my daughters that they need to focus on what makes THEM happy, not what others think they need to be happy.

If something doesn’t go your way, know that there is a reason why it didn’t go as you planned. Have faith that in time, everything will fall into place exactly as it was meant to be.

 

Leave a Reply

